Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport DDPS

Das Bild zeigt die Solaranlage des VBS in Alpnach.

The DDPS is divided into seven administrative units: Defence, General Secretariat, Civil Protection, Sport, armasuisse, the Federal Intelligence Service and swisstopo. The department’s core activities are security and physical exercise: security, protection and assistance from the Armed Forces and Civil Protection, physical exercise and health through sport. In 2018, the DDPS had 35,741 full-time-equivalent employees, while the Armed Forces performed 5,395,719 days of service.

Energy strategy

The DDPS adopted an energy policy for the department for the first time in 2004. It was renewed in 2013. The aim is to anchor modern and resource-efficient environmental and energy management in the DDPS and to achieve the DDPS’s specific targets based on the SwissEnergy programme by 2020.

Further information

Current success stories and statistics of the measures realised by this actor you can find in our annual report.