Tools

The Exemplary in energy initiative invites its own members and companies, organizations, cantons, towns, cities and municipalities to adopt some of the 39 joint measures and to adapt them to their own needs and areas of activity.

Those who are interested will find here implementation-oriented information sheets on good practice, along with tools that will help them to implement measures. The instruments are classified by action areas and measures.

Buildings and renewable energies

Measure no. 01: Energy-efficient new and converted buildings

The photo shows two buildings at Europaallee in Zurich, where SBB Real Estate is constructing according to the DGNB standard.

Europaallee in Zurich up to the DGNB standard
In Zurich, SBB Real Estate is constructing three buildings in sector H of the new Europaallee district, for completion by 2016. They are planned according to the DGNB Gold Certificate, which has been adapted to Switzerland. All aspects of sustainability – economic, ecological and social – are taken into account to the highest extent in this construction project.

2000-Watt Sites SBB factsheets

Tool box

Site development entails very specific opportunities and challenges for energy-efficient construction. With the development throughout Switzerland of 2000-Watt Sites, SBB Real Estate is seizing those opportunities together with the local authorities. Each factsheet describes the site’s characteristics and features, analyses target achievement in terms of the 2000-Watt catalogue of criteria, and contains project data, facts and contact information.

Exemplary in energy: Building standards

Tool box

The Exemplary in energy Office has for the first time surveyed the minimum building standards defined by the actors. Many of them use established labels and certificates.

Measure no. 2: Analyses of potential of waste heat and renewable energies

The photo shows a part of the cooling circuit, which today also serves as a waste heat source.

Utilization of own waste heat at the PSI
Today the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) can meet half of its heat requirement with waste heat from its own installations on the site. This share should rise to 75% by integrating further installations, which is made possible by making adjustments to the heating system.

Measure no. 03: No new fossil-fuel powered heating systems

Tool box

Tool for variants: Energy systems of the City of Zurich
The tool serves to make a comparison of variants between different energy supply systems that are possible for a building. The comparison of variants is made in the pre-study or at the beginning of the pre-project phase and serves as a basis for the decision to install a system. Up to four system variants can be compared with one another and be documented.

Measure no. 05: Energy-efficient lighting

Tool box

Guideline on lighting at the Zurich University Hospital
The Zurich University Hospital (USZ) notes in its guideline on lighting that it is imperative to adhere to the required objectives with regard to sustainability and energy efficiency in matters relating to natural and artificial light. The guideline sets various targets for this purpose.

For all measures in the action area Buildings and renewable energies

Tool box

Recommendation on building technology
The Coordination Conference of Building and Real Estate services of public building owners KBOB – the association of public building owners in Switzerland – has issued a general recommendation on building technology. KBOB recommendations lay down the general standard in the technical area concerned that should be applied to buildings owned by KBOB members.

Mobility

Measure no. 15: Promoting mobile-flexible forms of work

The photo shows a man travelling by train and holding a portable computer.

Work Smart
In order to promote flexible forms of work, the Swiss Federal Railways (SBB), together with other Swiss employers, have launched the Work Smart initiative. One of the initiative’s main activities is the publication of a charter. By signing it, SBB has committed to promoting flexible forms of work in its own company.

Data centers and Green IT

Measure no. 31: Highly-energy-efficient data centers

The photo shows the hybrid recooling units on the roof of the Wankdorf RC.

Free cooling for premises with electronic equipment
In terms of energy efficiency, Swisscom’s new data center is way above average, having a PUE (Power Usage Effectiveness) value of 1.2. Its high efficiency is attained primarily by means of the new free cooling process. In Switzerland, the process can be utilized all year round for all information and communication technology equipment.

Measure 33: Encouraging server virtualization in data centers

Tool box

With the Cloud platform Atlantica, BIT has built a private cloud for the Federal Administration. As from July, the administrative units can configure and order virtual Windows or Linux servers via a self-service portal.

Measure 34: Bundling of data centers / Outsourcing of IT services

Tool box

Swisscom offers Cloud and Data Center solutions for the customers’ different requirements. Since Swisscom relies on highly-efficient data centers and sources 100% renewable energy to operate them, energy and CO2 can be saved by utilizing such IT services. 

Measure 37: Promotion of economy mode at computer workstations

Tool box

The Federal Administration has adopted various information and communication technology (ICT) standards, including Standard P026: Standard on environmental criteria in the operation of standard IT devices (workstations, mobile PCs, screens, printers/multifunctional devices). Of particular interest are the devices’ energy option settings. 

https://www.energie-vorbild.admin.ch/content/vbe/en/home/dokumentation/hilfsmittel.html

Hilfsmittel

Das Energie-Vorbild Bund lädt die eigenen Mitglieder sowie Unternehmen, Organisationen, Kantone, Städte und Gemeinden dazu ein, einzelne der 39 gemeinsamen Massnahmen der Akteure im Energie-Vorbild Bund zu übernehmen und den eigenen Bedürfnissen und Tätigkeitsbereichen anzupassen.

Interessierte finden hier umsetzungsorientierte Merkblätter zu Guten Beispielen aus dem Energie-Vorbild Bund sowie Tools, welche die Umsetzung von Massnahmen unterstützen. Die Instrumente sind nach Aktionsbereichen und Massnahmen geordnet.

Gebäude und erneuerbare Energien

Massnahme 01: Energieeffiziente Neu- und Umbauten

Das Bild zeigt zwei Gebäude der Europaallee in Zürich, wo die SBB im DNGB-Standard baut.

Europaallee in Zürich im DGNB-Standard
In Zürich baut SBB Immobilien auf dem Baufeld H im neuen Stadtteil Europaallee bis 2016 drei Gebäude, die nach dem für die Schweiz adaptierten DGNB-Gold-Zertifikat geplant sind. Damit wird in diesem Bauvorhaben allen Aspekten der Nachhaltigkeit – Wirtschaft, Ökologie und Gesellschaft – in höchstem Masse Rechnung getragen.

Faktenblätter 2000-Watt-Areale SBB

Werkzeugkoffer

Das Überbauen von Arealen ist mit ganz spezifischen Chancen und Herausforderungen für energieeffizientes Bauen verbunden. Mit der schweizweiten Entwicklung von 2000-Watt-Arealen nimmt SBB Immobilien diese Chance zusammen mit den lokalen Behörden wahr. Die Faktenblätter zu diversen Arealen beschreiben die Charakteristika und Highlights des jeweiligen Areals, zeigen die Zielerreichung anhand des 2000-Watt-Kriterienkatalogs, und sie enthalten Daten, Fakten und Kontaktadressen des Projekts.

Gebäudestandards Energie-Vorbild Bund

Werkzeugkoffer

Erstmals hat die Geschäftsstelle Energie-Vorbild Bund die von den Akteuren festgelegten minimalen Gebäudestandards erfasst. Viele nutzen etablierte Labels und Zertifikate.

Massnahme 02: Potenzialanalysen Abwärme und erneuerbare Energien

Das Bild zeigt einen Teil des Kühlkreislaufes, der heute auch als Abwärmequelle dient.

Nutzung der eigenen Abwärme am PSI
Das Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI) kann heute die Hälfte des Wärmebedarfes mit Abwärme von eigenen Anlagen auf dem Areal decken. Durch die Einbindung weiterer Anlagen soll dieser Anteil auf 75% steigen. Möglich machen dies Systemanpassungen an der Heizung.

Massnahme 03: Keine neuen, fossil betriebenen Heizungen

Werkzeugkoffer

Variantentool Energiesysteme der Stadt Zürich
Das Werkzeug dient zur Erstellung eines Variantenvergleichs zwischen verschiedenen möglichen Energieversorgungssystemen eines Gebäudes. Der Variantenvergleich wird in der Vorstudie oder zu Beginn der Vorprojektphase erstellt und dient als Grundlage für den Systementscheid. Es können bis zu vier Systemvarianten miteinander verglichen und dokumentiert werden.

Massnahme 05: Energieeffiziente Beleuchtung

Werkzeugkoffer

Richtlinie Beleuchtung Universitätsspital Zürich
Das Universitätsspital Zürich (USZ) hält in seiner Richtlinie zur Beleuchtung fest, dass die geforderten Ziele in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit und Energieeffizienz im Umgang mit dem natürlichen und dem künstlichen Licht zwingend einzuhalten sind. Die Richtlinie macht diverse Vorgaben dazu.

Für alle Massnahmen im Aktionsbereich Gebäude und erneuerbare Energien

Werkzeugkoffer

Empfehlung Gebäudetechnik KBOB
Die Koordinationskonferenz der Bau- und Liegenschaftsorgane der öffentlichen Bauherren KBOB, die Vereinigung der öffentlichen Bauherren der Schweiz, hat eine allgemeine Empfehlung zur Gebäudetechnik erlassen. KBOB-Empfehlungen legen im betreffenden Fachgebiet den generellen Standard fest, der für Objekte der KBOB Mitglieder anzuwenden ist.

Mobilität

Massnahme 15: Förderung mobil-flexibler Arbeitsformen

Das Bild zeigt einen Mann, der im Zug sitzt und einen Laptop hält.

Arbeiten, wo es am besten geht
Um flexible Arbeitsformen zu fördern, hat die SBB mit anderen Schweizer Arbeitgebern die Work Smart Initiative lanciert. Eine Hauptaktivität der Initiative ist die Herausgabe einer Charta. Mit ihrer Unterzeichnung verpflichtet sich die SBB, flexible Arbeitsformen im eigenen Unternehmen zu fördern.

Rechenzentren und Green IT

Massnahme 31: Hochenergieeffiziente Rechenzentren

Das Bild zeigt die hybriden Rückkühler auf dem Dach des RZ Wankdorf.

Free Cooling für Räume mit elektronischen Geräten
Das neue Rechenzentrum von Swisscom liegt bei der Energieeffizienz mit einem PUE-Wert von 1.2 weit über dem Durchschnitt. Die hohe Effizienz wird in erster Linie durch das neuartige Freecooling-Verfahren erzielt. In der Schweiz kann das Verfahren für alle Geräte der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie ganzjährig eingesetzt werden.

Massnahme 33: Förderung der Server-Virtualisierung in RZ

Werkzeugkoffer

Das BIT hat mit der Cloud-Plattform Atlantica eine Private Cloud für die Bundesverwaltung aufgebaut. Seit Juli können die Verwaltungseinheiten über ein Self-Service-Portal virtuelle Windows- oder Linux-Server konfigurieren und bestellen.

Massnahme 34: Bündelung von RZ/Auslagerung von IT-Leistungen

Werkzeugkoffer

Swisscom bietet Cloud und Data Center Lösungen für die verschiedenen Anforderungen der Kunden an. Da Swisscom auf hocheffiziente Rechenzentren setzt und für den Betrieb 100% erneuerbare Energie bezieht, kann mit dem Bezug solcher IT-Dienstleistungen Energie und CO2 eingespart werden.

Massnahme 37: Förderung Sparmodus an Computer-Arbeitsplätzen

Werkzeugkoffer

Die Bundesverwaltung hat verschiedene Vorgaben für ihre Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT) beschlossen, u. a. den Standard P026: Vorgaben für ökologische Kriterien beim Betrieb von IT-Standardgeräten (Workstation, Mobile PC, Bildschirm, Drucker/Multifunktionsgerät). Dabei geht es insbesondere um die Einstellung der Energieoptionen dieser Geräte. 

https://www.energie-vorbild.admin.ch/content/vbe/de/home/dokumentation/hilfsmittel.html